currently reading

New Year Brings Same-Sex Civil Unions To Hawaii & Delaware

via Christina Boyle, NY Daily News

Same-sex pairs in Hawaii and Delaware began the new year as officially recognized couples as historic laws allowing civil unions in the two states took effect.

The long-awaited moment brings the number of states that grant civil unions or marriages to gay and lesbian couples to 11, in addition to Washington, D.C.

Donna Gedge and her partner of 33 years, Monica Montgomery, were one of four couples in Hawaii to take advantage of the new legislation Sunday at a joint ceremony held in a private home on the island on New Year’s Day shortly after midnight.

“We really don’t want to wait any longer because we have been together for 33 years waiting for the opportunity and our rights and everything that goes with it,” Gedge told CNN—affiliate KITV.

“So why wait?”

Same-sex marriage is legal in Washington, D.C., and Massachusetts, Connecticut, Iowa, Vermont, New Hampshire and New York.

Five states recognize same-sex civil unions: Hawaii, Delaware, Illinois, New Jersey and Rhode Island.

Continue Reading


No comments yet.

Have Something To Say?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


Favorite Topics:

The Archives:

%d bloggers like this: